About Us : Leadership


We pride ourselves on being and creating the leaders in the field of dermatology. Below you will find a list of some of our laureates who have made and continue to make significant contributions our field.

Department of Dermatology and Cutaneous Surgery – University of Miami

• Robert S. Kirsner, M.D., Ph.D., Current Chairman
• Lawrence Schachner, M.D., Former Chairman
• William H. Eaglstein, M.D., Chairman Emeritus

American Academy of Dermatology

• Brian Berman, M.D., Ph.D, Vice-President 2016, Member of the Board of Directors (2008-2013)
• Robert S. Kirsner, M.D., Ph.D, Member of the Board of Directors (2017-2021)
• Stephen H. Mandy, M.D., Member of the Board of Directors (2012-2016)
• David M. Pariser, M.D., Past President
• James M. Spencer, M.D., Member of the Board of Directors (2011-2015)


• Paul R. Bergstresser, M.D., UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX.
• William H. Eaglstein, M.D., University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburg, PA.; University of Miami, Miami, FL.
• Vincent Falanga, M.D., Roger Williams Medical Center, RI.
• Philip Frost, M.D., Mt. Sinai Medical Center, Miami, FL.
• Mauricio Goihman-Yahr, M.D., Ph.D. Instituto Nacional de Dermatología, Central University of Venezuela, Caracas, Venezuela.
• Edward C. Gomez, M.D., Ph.D., University of California-Davis.
• Dan Hogan, M.D., Louisiana State University, Shreveport, LA.
• Ronald Marks, M.D., University of Wales College of Medicine, Cardiff, Wales.
• Akira Ohkawara, M.D., Ph.D., Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan.
• David M. Pariser, M.D., Eastern Virginia Medical School, Norfolk, VA.
• Neal S. Penneys, M.D., Ph.D., St. Louis University, MO.
• E. William Rosenberg, M.D., University of Tennessee, Memphis, TN.
• Lawrence Schachner, M.D., University of Miami, Miami, FL.
• Seichiro Sagami, Hyogo College of Medicine, Hyogo, Japan.
• Edgar B. Smith, M.D., University of Texas at Galveston, University of New Mexico, NM
• Mitsuru Setoyama, M.D., Ph.D., Miyazai Medical Collage, Miyazaki, Japan.
• J. Graham Smith, M.D., University of Georgia, Augusta; University of Alabama, Mobile.
• Gerald Weinstein, M.D., University of California-Irvine.
• Kunihiko Yoshikawa, M.D., Ph.D., Osaka University, Osaka, Japan.

National Institutes of Health

• Stephen I. Katz, M.D., Ph.D., Director, National Institute of Arthritis & Musculoskeletal & Skin Diseases.
• Andrew Blauvelt, M.D., Investigator, National Cancer Institute.
• John J. DiGiovanna, M.D., Investigator, National Cancer Institute.
• Kenneth H. Kraemer, M.D., Senior Investigator, National Cancer Institute.
• Marvin Lutzner, M.D., Chief, Dermatology Branch, National Cancer Institute.

Veterans Hospital Service Chiefs

• Brian Berman, M.D., Ph.D., Martinez. CA
• Edward C. Gomez, M.D., Ph.D., Davis, CA.
• Kenneth Halprin, M.D., Miami, FL.
• Jonette Keri, M.D.,Ph.D., Miami, FL
• Robert S. Kirsner, M.D., Ph.D., Miami, FL.
• Joyce Rico, M.D., New York, NY.
• Richard Taylor, M.D., Miami, FL.

Journal Editors

• Archives of Dermatology – Harvey Blank, M.D. (Past Editor)
• Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology – J. Graham Smith, M.D. (Founding Editor)
• Journal of Investigative Dermatology – Paul Bergstresser, M.D. (Past Editor)